Did you know more people continue to unsubscribe from Facebook?
In a survey back in 2018, there were about 36.38 million users that deleted their Facebook phone app. 19.26 million users went one step further and deleted their accounts.
One major factor behind this was the massive security flaw Facebook disclosed about on September 28, 2018. The affected users amounted to about 50 million people.
You might consider the idea of deleting your Facebook account too, either due to security or personal reasons. For more questions regarding Facebook, feel free to ask a question and we are ready to answer.
Now let’s dive into the steps to deactivate or delete your Facebook:
1. Deleting vs Deactivating: What’s the Difference?
Did you know you can unsubscribe from Facebook without permanently deleting your account? This is possible by merely deactivating your Facebook account. How is this different from deleting your Facebook?
Let us first look at the differences between the two.
Deactivating Your Account
While they look the same, deactivating your account is different from deleting it. When you deactivate your account, it’s still present as you can still log in. In fact, you’re the only one who can see your information.
It gives the impression of your account disappearing. Other users trying to view your profile won’t see it at all. Despite this, certain bits of information are still visible, such as sent messages.
Yes, this means you can still use Messenger in this setup. Your name still appears in groups and in friend lists belonging to your friends. You can be in this state for as long as you wish, giving you the option to reactivate when the time comes.
Deactivating your account is a good option if you plan to cool off for a bit. You still have a chance to come back when you are ready to use your Facebook account again.
Deleting Your Account
Compared to deactivating it, deleting your Facebook account eliminated everything. This option does not allow you to reactivate your account, nor be able to use Messenger. It also ensures you’re no longer susceptible to future security breaches.
This entails a full-on erasure of your account and the information related to it. This includes pictures, posts, and messages. If you used your Facebook account to log in to your apps, you lose access to them now that the linked account is gone.
When you take this decision, Facebook gives you a 30 day grace period. During this time, you still have the option to change your mind about it and cancel the deletion. Once that time is over, everything vanishes.
This is more of a decisive action and a permanent solution that once you take it, there’s no going back.
2. Steps to Take Before Deleting
Before you take on the decision of deleting your Facebook account, check it first. Are there photos or other bits of information that are still on Facebook that you wish to retrieve? Now would be a good time to backup your information.
You can do this by clicking on the drop-down menu. You can find at the top right corner of any Facebook page in your web browser. From there, click on Settings and it should take you to the Account Settings page.
Once you are there, click on Your Facebook Information. Among the options you can choose is Download Your Information.
Click on that and it should show you which bits of information you can download and keep. It also lists the dates of the information needed and the format.
3. How to Deactivate and Unsubscribe from Facebook
In the Facebook Information section, you’ll also see the last option that says Delete Your Account and Information. Upon clicking it, you’ll see a page with two more options. The first one is for deactivating your account while the other is where you can download your information.
Upon clicking on Deactivate Account, you will see a form where you would state your reasons behind leaving. Along with that are checkboxes that will allow you to keep using Messenger and opt out of Facebook emails. This lets you unsubscribe from Facebook in that respect.
Once you have set those up, click on Deactivate. With this option, you can still come back.
4. How to Delete Your Account
Are you set on deleting your Facebook account and plan to unsubscribe from Facebook for good? If the answer is yes, this is where you proceed.
If you have not downloaded your information yet, do that first before proceeding.
When you are ready, look at the bottom right. You should see the Delete Account button. Once you click that, you will see a prompt that will ask for your Facebook password to confirm.
Once you have done that, you have 30 days to be able to click on Cancel Deletion. Otherwise, if you wait for the 30 days to pass, your Facebook account is gone permanently.
Back then, this was a tedious process, where accidental logins can cancel the process. Facebook now utilizes multi-step login procedures for people recovering their account.
Learn More About Facebook Today!
Learning how to unsubscribe from Facebook or delete your account is a decision isn’t as complex as before. With the current improvements on Facebook’s tools, this process is now simpler and easier to undertake.
Did you find this useful? Looking for more useful Facebook tips?
We have the means to help you with any situation you have in mind when it comes to online services and technology. If you have other inquiries and concerns that can help us improve, feel free to contact us.